Logosm.gif (1927 bytes)
navlinks.gif (4688 bytes)
Hruler04.gif (5511 bytes)

Back to Office of the Mayor main page

Mayor-Elect Anthony Williams Names Transition Team
Press Release
November 12, 1998




Dorothy Brizill
Bonnie Cain
Jim Dougherty
Gary Imhoff
Phil Mendelson
Mark David Richards
Sandra Seegars


DCWatch Archives
Council Period 12
Council Period 13
Council Period 14

Election 1998
Election 2000
Election 2002

Election 2004
Election 2006

Government and People
Anacostia Waterfront Corporation
Boards and Com
Campaign Finance
Chief Financial Officer
Chief Management Officer
City Council
Control Board
Corporation Counsel
DC Agenda
Elections and Ethics
Fire Department
FOI Officers
Inspector General
Housing and Community Dev.
Human Services
Mayor's Office
Mental Health
Motor Vehicles
Neighborhood Action
National Capital Revitalization Corp.
Planning and Econ. Dev.
Planning, Office of
Police Department
Property Management
Public Advocate
Public Libraries
Public Schools
Public Service Commission
Public Works
Regional Mobility Panel
Sports and Entertainment Com.
Taxi Commission
Telephone Directory
University of DC
Water and Sewer Administration
Youth Rehabilitation Services
Zoning Commission

Issues in DC Politics

Budget issues
DC Flag
DC General, PBC
Gun issues
Health issues
Housing initiatives
Mayor’s mansion
Public Benefit Corporation
Regional Mobility
Reservation 13
Tax Rev Comm
Term limits repeal
Voting rights, statehood
Williams’s Fundraising Scandals


Appleseed Center
Cardozo Shaw Neigh.Assoc.
Committee of 100
Fed of Citizens Assocs
League of Women Voters
Parents United
Shaw Coalition



What Is DCWatch?

themail archives

Anthony Williams

1730 K Street, N.W.
Washington, DC 20006
Phone 202.418-0151

For Immediate Release
November 12, 1998

Contact: Peggy Armstrong
(202) 418-0151
(202) 276-8263


Mayor-elect Anthony Williams Names Transition Team

Anthony Williams explaining transition team chart
Anthony Williams explaining transition team chart

Mayor-Elect Anthony Williams announced today that Marion Wright Edelman, founder and president of the Children’s Defense Fund, will serve as the general chair of his transition team. Mr. Williams also tapped Franklin Raines, CEO and chairman-elect of Fannie Man and the Honorable Bob Dole to serve as honorary chairs of the transition.

“I have enormous respect for Marian Wright Edelman and the work she is doing on behalf of our children,” said Mr. Williams. “I’m very pleased she has agreed to work with the Williams Administration during this time of transition.”

Mr. Williams also spoke about the importance of involving nationally respected leaders such as Mr. Raines and Mr. Dole. “My administration is committed to bringing new involvement and investment in our city as well as building on the commitment many people have made to the District. Mr. Raines and Mr. Dole represent the breadth of potential support that is available to our city.

Also serving in a leadership capacity is a group of co-chairs who will represent the broad-based support Mr. Williams built during the election. It includes local and national business leaders, community advocates and activists, nonprofits, religious leaders and members of the Draft Williams committee.

“The co-chairs of the transition will work with teams in a number of areas of concern to develop recommendations on actions that will allow the Williams Administration to hit the ground running when we take office in January.”

Mr. Williams outlined the structure for the transition and announced that Warren Graves, former Williams for Mayor campaign manager, will be the Transition staff director.

Chart of transition team organization

Back to top of page

Send mail with questions or comments to webmaster@dcwatch.com
Web site copyright ©DCWatch (ISSN 1546-4296)